comedy show.

we had been promoting this comedy show with comedian Dennis Gaxiola since school started. We handed out like 2500 flyers, wrote the deets on the chalkboards of lecture halls (at 6:30am before classes started!), and invited tons of people. The room we had reserved for the event could fit about 260 students.

when I got there friday night to help set up, i was so nervous that no one would come.

College students are over committed and non-committal at the same time. Let’s be honest- you have a few responsibilities and constant distractions. In short- you never know when something better could come along.

I was sitting on a ledge outside the room, and I looked down at my phone. I prayed a short little prayer, “God, we were faithful to do our part of inviting people & I know you’re even more faithful to bring them. I trust you.”

Chris&Marc- my intern partners in crime- had been praying over the room the whole week. I had prayed, the staff had prayed, students had prayed that people would come. I asked a few people from home to pray too. Dennis does clean comedy & was going to share his story about meeting&following Jesus- we knew this could be so cool for the campus….if they actually showed up.

As I looked up, the lobby had FILLED UP with students coming early to get good seats! In fact, as it got closer to 8pm- the room filled up completely! Standing room only and some people had to stand outside!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cool Latino frat guys, white girls (heyy!), African American students, International students, dorks, and cool kids made up the crowd. I would venture to guess that most of them would never step foot inside a church. But Friday night they heard about Jesus and laughed a lot too.

I can’t wait to see the fruit of what comes of Friday night as we follow up with the people who came. I believe that God did something big though- and I’m honored to be a part!

That’s the weird thing about faith- believing without seeing….or even seeing and having a hard time believing! The cool thing is, God is always always always faithful even when we aren’t.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7

When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted.

Psalm 138:3

About Katie Cannon

An AZ lifestyle blogger who loves good food, good service, and good people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

