four years ago.

four years ago

the world cup was in germany

pluto got kicked out of the solar system

people were freaking out about bird flu

i was a college sophomore

and God healed me of a brain cyst.

I was doing some unpacking and came across the dvd of one of the MRI’s I had. See? It’s dated 11/28/2006.

I didn’t realize it had even been that long! The reason it’s dated the 28th is because I went to California for Thanksgiving and didn’t want to have the MRI jack up those plans. So I waited until after :).

If you want to hear the whole long story, (emphasis on long), you can read more.

Just before T-giving, I had been having 2+ migraines a week and literally had a constant low grade headache. It was horrible. And I was the busiest I had ever been in my life- I was giving campus tours, being a 1st year Resident Assistant, doing XA leadership, and volunteering with homeless youth. It was fun but it was busy!

Obviously I wanted to keep doing all of that fun stuff so I went to campus health because I thought they would give me some medicine or something. They sent me for an MRI. Then I went back to campus health for a follow up appointment on a Friday at 4:30pm (I remember because I had plans that night).

I remember it was totally weird because the doctor came from around the back of her desk and sat next to me. She put her hand on my shoulder and told me I had a cyst on my brain the size of a golf ball. Then she put a piece of paper on the desk that said if I didn’t go to the ER ASAP, I was running the risk of death and going against medical advice. We called my parents- who were stuck in a snow storm in Chicago- they freaked out. Since all of my XA friends were busy because we were all supposed to hang out, I called Brittany (My awesome freshman year roommate/Thanksgiving hostess) to take me to the ER.

The doctors took like 1 look at my MRI and were like “Oh, well we’re going to have to drain this tonight. And we also noticed you have a chiari malformation.” [This means my cerebellum was growing into my neck]. Commence more freaking out.

I decided to see if I can bargain my way out of this. With my super messy dorm room in mind, I asked, “Umm could this wait like 2 weeks? I’ll be home in Chicago then and I’d rather recover there…” They said I could have 2 weeks.

Meanwhile, my mom & sister are fiercely Google-ing doctors, chiari malformations.  They emailed Shawn & Candi, my campus pastors, to ask if XA would pray for me. I came home to tons and tons of encouraging voicemails from my xa friends.

Getting an appointment with a neurologist is like getting one at the dentist- everyone makes their appointment super far in advanace so there are difficult to get.  We finally got an appointment at the University of Chicago. I was getting ready to go home from Arizona, planned to have my finals postponed, and was wondering what I’d look like with a shaved head. My friend asked if I’d like to get people together for prayer. OF COURSE!

So these people:

gathered in the home of Pastor Pete to pray for my head. I sat on that chair in the picture and they got to work. Praying, crying, singing- the works. The cool thing is that God did lots of inner healing that night, speaking to my worth and identity in Christ. They recorded all the things people felt like God had said& declared scripture over me.  I left really encouraged- but I still had a headache.

At my Grandma's falling asleep on my dad pre- Christmas Eve church. I felt so sick! Thank goodness my Dad was there!

My neurologist appointment wasn’t until the 1st week of January. I went home for Christmas- aka my FAVORITE holiday. Well I was miserable. My headache was so bad, I left church early on Christmas Eve& my parents decided to take me to the emergency room. I looked like Michael Jackson or a homeless person or something- I was so light sensitive that I was wearing a hoodie with the hood up&sunglasses, ASU basket ball shorts and Birkenstock clogs. I made it to the lobby of the hospital and then threw up everywhere. Gross! But we found out if you throw up, they rush you into a room! They gave me an IV of morphine which was totally discusting but made me feel so much better. It was clear that I was deathly ill because I was not the first one up on Christmas morning and I didn’t want to go shopping the day after. Ok, actually I tried to go shopping the day after and almost passed out in front of Claire’s.

Finally,  the day comes for the doctors appointment. I go with both of my parents ready to schedule surgery. The morning is filled with more MRI’s of my brain and entire spine. We met with the doctor in the afternoon. He had me do some of that like “touch your nose,” “walk down the hallway,” stuff. Then he looked at the MRI’s.

“Hmm, I’m not totally sure what they saw in Phoenix. You look totally fine. We’ll put you on a pill for now, but you should be fine.”

I took the pill for a little bit, and had maybe one or 2 more migraines after that but the constant headache was gone. I haven’t had a “brain cyst” migraine since. ( I got one from not wearing my glasses, but that’s it!)

Some times I don’t like telling this story- because I feel like everyone has heard it 1 million times and people are sick of it. Some times I don’t like telling the story because the work of faith God did in my heart was really the biggest deal. But I’m constantly reminded that people need to hear that God still heals, that it doesn’t have to be scary or weird, that it’s not for the spiritually “elite”- its for busy college sophomores and it’s for you.

“But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.” (Isaiah  53:5)

“If you diligently heed the voice of the Lord your God and do what is right in His sight, give ear to His commandments and keep all His statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you which I have brought on the Egyptians. For I am the Lord who heals you.” (Exodus 15:26)

“And when the men of that place recognized Him, they sent out into all that surrounding region, brought to Him all who were sick, and begged Him that they might only touch the hem of His garment. And as many as touched it were made perfectly well.” (Matthew 14:35)

“Now Jesus went about all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the gospel of the kingdom and healing all kinds of sickness and all kinds of diseases among the people.” (Matthew 4:23)

About Katie Cannon

An AZ lifestyle blogger who loves good food, good service, and good people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to four years ago.

  1. Kim F. says:

    Katie, I remember that you were diagnosed, but I didn’t hear any more about it. I didn’t realize you we healed. Awesome! I believe in the power of prayer and annointing by the elders for healing in accordance with God’s will. James 5:14 -16 says, “Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person will; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other that you may be healed. The prayer of a a righteous man is powerful and effective”.

Leave a Reply

