Why XA #3: …where everybody knows your name.

My friend Dom and I used to have a competition when walking from one end of campus to the other: who ever sees the most people they know before we get there wins! I would have won that game today!

I ran into 6 people I knew  in the course of an hour. It was free espresso day at Liberty Market (adorable restaurant/espresso bar) in Gilbert, AZ. It was the perfect place to be my “mobile office” today.  As I was ordering, I noticed I knew a girl who was sitting at the counter- I hadn’t seen her in a few years! So great to see her! Then, as I was ordering, a girl came up to the register too- I had met her 2 days before at Cartel in Tempe. I sat down with my deliciously free latte and saw a family of four I knew come in for lunch!

Don’t you just love it when things like that happen?! I have only lived in Arizona since 2005 (and only year round for half of that!).  The way that God has blessed me with relationships here is OUT OF CONTROL! There is little other explanation for this other than the favor of God. I’m not an exceptional friend (working on that one :)), or a networking genius, or anything. As I’ve learned more about who God has created me to be- He’s brought lots of people from different walks of life into my path.  I am so thankful!

What on earth does this have to do with why I’m choosing Chi Alpha? Well, I’ve never heard God speak audibly to me, but I do know that one way He “speaks” is with open and closed doors or by providing opportunities. God has busted the doors open in terms of relationships for me on the campus.  I’m taking it as a neon sign that this is where I’m supposed to be.

I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

Revelations 3:8

Thus says the LORD to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have grasped, to subdue nations before him and to loose the belts of kings, to open doors before him that gates may not be closed:”I will go before you and level the exalted places, I will break in pieces the doors of bronze and cut through the bars of iron.

Isaiah 45:1-2

Don’t forget to check out the other 2 parts of this series:

Why XA #1

Why XA #2

About Katie Cannon

An AZ lifestyle blogger who loves good food, good service, and good people.
This entry was posted in Why XA?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

